Himachal Diary

Jai Ram is new HP CM, to take oath on Dec 27

By Bhupinder Singh

December 25, 2017

Jai Ram is new HP CM, to take oath on Dec 27

ShimlaFive-time MLA from Mandi district Jai Ram Thakur, who remained a forerunner among BJP MLAs, has been declared to be the next Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. The official announcement was made on Sunday after the BJP’s Central observers–Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Tomar held meeting with the members of the Core Committee and the newly elected MLAS at Peterhoff, the State guest house. Jai Ram is the first Chief Minister from Mandi.

Jai Ram Thakur’s name was proposed by former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumalat the state BJP’s Core Committee and legislature party meeting in Shimla and was seconded by Union Minister J P Nadda and veteran leader Shanta Kumar. Among the MLAs who proposed the name of Jairam included Suresh Bhardwaj from Shimla, Rajeev Bindal from Nahan, Sarween Chaudhary from Shahpur and Mohinder Singh from Dharampur. Jai Ram, MLA from Serajin Mandi, had emerged as one of the front runners for the top post after the defeat of BJP leader Prem Kumar Dhumal in the 2017 Assembly polls, the results of which were announced last week.

Dhumal, who was expected to take over as the chief minister before the defeat, was in the reckoning till Saturday night, when he opted out. Thakur, a former state unit chief and Rural Development and Panchayati Raj minister in a government headed by Dhumal, is a Rajput leader considered close to the RSS. Thakur will be the first Chief Minister from Mandi, considered electorally significant because of the high number of seats in the region. Himachal’s chief ministers and political leaders mostly belong to or hailed from Shimla, Kangra and Sirmour. Mandi has 10 Assembly seats, second only to Kangra’s 15. The BJP won nine of the 10 seats in Mandi in this election.