Rajya Sabha Elections 2018: Mayawati v/s Jaya Bachchan, Eyes on Akhilesh Yadav's stand


Rajya Sabha Elections 2018: Mayawati v/s Jaya Bachchan, Eyes on Akhilesh Yadav’s stand

By Nidhi Bhanot

March 22, 2018

Jaya Bachan can face problem due to Mayawati’s demand from Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday. Rajya Sabha Elections could be controversial in the Uttar Pradesh. Mayawati has demanded from Yadav to assign her ten committed Samajwadi Party MLAs to vote for BSP candidate Bhim Rao Ambedkar  in Rajya Sabha Elections. But Mayawati’s demand can be problematic for renowned actress and SP candidate Jaya Bachchan if cross-voting would take place by some of remaining 37 SP MLAs. She put forward this demand in front of Akhilesh Yadav comes after SP’s impressive win in Gorakhpur and Phulpur bye-elections with BSP support.Now all the eyes are on Akhilesh stand. The security has been beefed up at all the Uttar Pradesh

It is pertinent to mention that according to the news reports on various websites all political parties will be required to allot MLAs for their respective candidates. As given the number of vacancies, each candidate will have to get at least 37 votes. 

With strength of 47 MLAs, SP can part with 10 MLA votes for BSP only when its own candidate Jaya Bachchan is safely placed after getting the mandatory 37 first preferential votes.The Elections for the maximum seats is in Uttar Pradesh as maximum seats vacant are in this state. However, with the chances of Nitin voting in favour of BJP, Akhilesh will have to choose between Jaya and Ambedkar.  Know About Rajya Sabha Members

The members of state assemblies elect Rajya Sabha members by a process of indirect voting in what is called proportional representation with a single transferable vote. Rajya Sabha members are elected for a six-year term. One-third of the members of the upper house of parliament retire after every two years.

Number of seats for Rajya Sabha Elections

Uttar Pradesh: 10 seats

Maharashtra: 6 seats